skip to content

Faculty of Mathematics


The Faculty Board is constituted according the regulations laid down in the Statutes and Ordinances of the University of Cambridge:

Members include the Heads of the Departments, members elected by the Professors in the Faculty, members appointed by the University Council, members elected by the Faculty at its annual meeting, co-opted members and three student members (two undergraduates and one graduate) who are elected, one year at a time, by the student body. The Board meets six times a year.


The unreserved agendas and minutes of the Faculty Board can be inspected from Cambridge ( Systems only. See left hand menu for links.


Members serve until the end of the Calendar Year unless otherwise stated

Class a(i): Heads of Departments
Professor N Peake   30/09/2020
Professor G P Paternain   30/09/2018
Class a(ii): Elected by the Professors in the Faculty for 4 years
Professor J R Norris   2020
Professor E P S Shellard   2017
Professor I Grojnowski   2020
Class b: Appointed by the Council for 2 years
Dr J Goedecke   2017
Dr A I Pesci   2018
Class c: Elected by the Faculty for 4 years
Professor N G Wickramasekera    2018
Vacancy   2019
Professor R Jozsa   2019
Professor J R Lister   2017
Dr S Martin   2019
Professor M G Worster Chair 2020
Dr O Rath-Spivack   2020
Dr S M Colwell   2018
Class d: Up to 4 members co-opted for one calendar year at a time
Prof C P Caulfield Chair, Part III Committee 2017
Dr S J Cowley Chair, MUAC 2017
Dr J M Evans Director of Undergraduate Education 30/04/2018
Dr J A Ross DoS Convenor 2017
Class e: Representatives of cognate bodies for one year at a time
No members
Class f: Student Members, one year at a time, elected by the students
Mr E Donvez (Q) Undergraduate 30/11/2017
Mr X Ma (F) Undergraduate 30/11/2017
Mr A Chamolly (T) Graduate 30/11/2017
Dr J Bellingham Secretary of the School of the Physical Sciences Permanent
Professor P A Davidson Faculty Board of Engineering 2017
Professor A Dawar Faculty Board of Computer Science & Technology 2017
Dr J A Neufeld Faculty Board of Earth Sciences & Geography 2017
Dr K M Knowles Faculty Board of Physics & Chemistry 2017