skip to content

News and Announcements


Watch Professor Kip Thorne's Andrew Chamblin Memorial Lecture: "LIGO and Beyond - Exploring the Universe with Gravitational Waves"

6 October 2017

In May 2017 Professor Kip Thorne (Caltech) gave the 11th annual Andrew Chamblin Memorial Lecture at the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics. The public lecture, 'LIGO and Beyond - Exploring the Universe with Gravitational Waves', explored the work for which Kip Thorne, Rainer Weiss and Barry Barish have now been awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics, and can be watched online via the link below. 

"BBC Pandemic" app-based citizen science project with Professor Julia Gog launched

17 September 2017

Professor Julia Gog, Stephen Kissler and PhD student Maria Tang (DAMTP) are working with the BBC on an innovative project, BBC Pandemic, combining outreach, citizen science and new mathematical research. The groundbreaking project invites any adult in the UK to contribute to research to combat future pandemics.

Professor John Aston appointed as Chief Scientific Adviser to the Home Office

11 September 2017

Professor John Aston (DPMMS) has been appointed as the Home Office’s new Chief Scientific Adviser, following the retirement of Professor Bernard Silverman. The Chief Scientific Adviser's role is to ensure that departmental decisions are informed by the best science and engineering evidence and advice.

PhD student Adrien Lefauve wins 2017 Osborne Reynolds Prize

24 July 2017

DAMTP PhD student Adrien Lefauve has been awarded the 2017 Osborne Reynolds Prize. The prestigious award celebrates the quality of research by PhD students and graduates across the broad domain of fluid mechanics.

PhD student Amalia Thomas wins Vice-Chancellor's Public Engagement with Research Award

14 July 2017

DAMTP PhD student Amalia Thomas has received a prestigious Vice-Chancellor's Public Engagement with Research Award. The awards recognise and reward those who undertake quality engagement with research.

LMS Whitehead Prizes awarded to Dr Julia Gog, Dr Oscar Randal-Williams and Dr Jack Thorne

1 July 2017

Dr Julia Gog (DAMTP), Dr Oscar Randal-Williams (DPMMS) and Dr Jack Thorne (DPMMS) have been awarded Whitehead Prizes by the LMS.

Professor Mark Gross elected a Fellow of the Royal Society.

5 May 2017

Professor Mark Gross (DPMMS) has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society. Fellows are chosen for their outstanding contributions to science. 

Adams Prize 2017-18

2 May 2017

Applications are invited for the 2016/17 Adams Prize, one of the oldest and most prestigious prizes in the University of Cambridge. The prize will be awarded this year for achievements in the field of The Mathematics of Astronomy and Cosmology. The deadline for the receipt of applications is 31 October 2017.

Adams Prize winners 2016-17 announced

24 April 2017

This year’s topic was “Statistical Analysis of Big Data”, and the prize has been awarded jointly to Professor Graham Cormode (University of Warwick) and Professor Richard Samworth (University of Cambridge).