skip to content

News and Announcements


Professor Fernando Quevedo wins American Physical Society's 2021 John Wheatley Award

26 October 2020

Fernando Quevedo, Professor of Theoretical Physics (DAMTP), has been announced as the recipient of the 2021 John Wheatley Award from the American Physical Society in recognition of his 'sustained commitment and achievement in the advancement of physics and science in developing countries'.

Professor Julia Gog awarded OBE

12 October 2020

Julia Gog, Professor of Mathematical Biology (DAMTP), has been awarded an OBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours list for 'services to academia and the Covid-19 response'. Professor Gog's work focusses on modelling the spread of infectious disease, and as a member of the Scientific Advisory Group for Emergencies (SAGE) and subcommittees has included particular attention to children in this pandemic, and building the evidence-base for safe reopening of schools.

Professor John D Barrow FRS, 1952-2020

2 October 2020

The Faculty is deeply saddened by the death of Professor John D Barrow FRS on 26th September 2020. He was Professor of Mathematical Sciences in the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, Director of the Millennium Mathematics Project, and a Fellow of Clare Hall. He leaves a major legacy of research contributions to theoretical cosmology and mathematical physics, as well as to the public understanding and teaching of science. 

Professor Julia Gog wins Royal Society's 2020 Rosalind Franklin Award

12 August 2020

Professor Julia Gog (DAMTP) has been awarded the Rosalind Franklin Award and Lecture 2020 by the Royal Society, in recognition of her achievements in the field of mathematics and her impactful project proposal with its potential for a long-term legacy. The Royal Society Rosalind Franklin Award and Lecture is made to an individual for an outstanding contribution to any area of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) and to support the promotion of women in STEM.

Professor Sir David Spiegelhalter wins Royal Society's 2020 Michael Faraday Prize

5 August 2020

The Royal Society has awarded the prestigious Michael Faraday Prize and Lecture 2020 to Professor Sir David Spiegelhalter (DPMMS) for bringing key insights from the disciplines of statistics and probability vividly home to the public at large, and to key decision-makers, in entertaining and accessible ways, most recently through the COVID-19 pandemic. The Royal Society Michael Faraday Prize and Lecture is awarded annually to a scientist or engineer whose expertise in communicating scientific ideas in lay terms is exemplary.

Dr Maria Bruna, Dr Holly Krieger and Dr Henry Wilton awarded LMS Whitehead Prizes

29 June 2020

Dr Maria Bruna (DAMTP), Dr Holly Krieger (DPMMS) and Dr Henry Wilton (DPMMS) have each been awarded a prestigious Whitehead Prize by the London Mathematical Society. The Whitehead Prizes are awarded annually to recognise work in and influence on mathematics. Dr Bruna's prize recognises her outstanding research in asymptotic homogenisation; Dr Holly Krieger is awarded a Whitehead Prize for her deep contributions to arithmetic dynamics; and Dr Henry Wilton has been awarded the prize for his remarkable contributions to geometric and combinatorial group theory.

Professor Hugh Osborn and Professor Jack Thorne elected as Fellows of the Royal Society

5 May 2020

Professor Hugh Osborn (DAMTP) and Professor Jack Thorne (DPMMS) have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Society. Hugh Osborn has been recognised for his important contributions to quantum field theory. Jack Thorne has been recognised for multiple breakthroughs in diverse areas of algebraic number theory, and becomes the youngest living member of the Fellowship.

Dr John Taylor awarded Pilkington Prize

20 April 2020

Dr John Taylor (DAMTP) is one of the 2020 winners of the University of Cambridge's Pilkington Prize, and is featured in this University video with awardees and their students. The Pilkington Prizes are awarded annually to University of Cambridge staff in recognition of their contributions to teaching excellence.

Adams Prize Winners 2019-20 Announced

17 March 2020

The Adams Prize 2019-20 has been awarded jointly to Professor Konstantin Ardakov (University of Oxford) and Dr Michael Wemyss (University of Glasgow), for their work in the field of Algebra. The Adams Prize is awarded jointly each year by the Faculty of Mathematics and St John's College, Cambridge, to UK-based researchers under the age of 40 doing first class international research in the Mathematical Sciences.

Dr Helen Mason appears on BBC Radio 4 'In Our Time'

24 January 2020

Dr Helen Mason (DAMTP) was a guest on BBC Radio 4's In Our Time on 23 January 2020. The programme explored the solar wind - the flow of particles from the outer region of the Sun which we can observe in the Northern and Southern Lights.