skip to content

News and Announcements


Smith-Knight and Rayleigh-Knight Prizes 2024

4 December 2023

The 2024 competition is open for one or more Smith-Knight Prizes and one or more Rayleigh-Knight Prizes, awarded for essays on any subject in Mathematics and its applications. The Prizes are open to any registered postgraduate student at the University of Cambridge who has completed at least three but not more than five terms of postgraduate research. The purpose of the Prize competition is to encourage beginning researchers in mathematics in their conduct and write-up of new and original work.

The submission deadline for this year's competition is Tuesday 16 January 2024. For more information please see here.


Professor Jason Miller awarded ERC Consolidator Grant

28 November 2023

Professor Jason Miller (DPMMS) is one of four University of Cambridge researchers to be awarded a prestigious European Research Council Consolidator Grant. The grants are designed to support excellent scientists and scholars at the career stage where they may still be consolidating their own independent research teams to pursue their most promising scientific ideas.


Professor Holly Krieger and Professor Po-Ling Loh awarded 2023 Philip Leverhulme Prizes

30 October 2023

Professor Po-Ling Loh (DPMMS) and Professor Holly Krieger (DPMMS) have each been awarded a 2023 Philip Leverhulme Prize. The £100,000 prizes are awarded annually by the Leverhulme Trust to recognise and celebrate the achievements of outstanding researchers whose work has already attracted international recognition and whose future careers are exceptionally promising. 


Professor Julia Gog awarded IMA Hedy Lamarr Prize

31 August 2023

Professor Julia Gog OBE (DAMTP) has been awarded the IMA Hedy Lamarr Prize for Knowledge Exchange in Mathematics and its Applications. This new prize is awarded to mathematicians who demonstrate meritorious knowledge exchange in mathematics and its applications, including a sustained contribution to inspiring, enhancing and supporting knowledge exchange in the mathematical sciences. The award recognises Professor Gog's exceptional contributions to outreach, raising public awareness, and her work during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Adams Prize 2024: Geometry

3 August 2023

Applications are invited for the 2023-24 Adams Prize, one of the oldest and most prestigious prizes in the University of Cambridge. The prize will be awarded this year for achievements in the field of Geometry. The deadline for receipt of applications is 31 October 2023.

Professor Pierre Raphaël wins 2023 Clay Research Award

6 June 2023

The 2023 Clay Research Award has been won by Pierre Raphaël, Herchel Smith Professor of Pure Mathematics in DPMMS, and his long-term collaborators Frank Merle (IHES, Paris), Igor Rodnianski (Princeton), and Jérémie Szeftel (Sorbonne Université, Paris). The award recognises their profound contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations.

Professor Ivan Smith elected as Fellow of the Royal Society

10 May 2023

Ivan Smith, Professor of Geometry in the Department of Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics, has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society. The honour recognises his work in symplectic topology and exceptional contributions to this rapidly advancing field.

Professor Richard Nickl awarded European Research Council Advanced Grant

21 April 2023

Richard Nickl, Professor of Mathematical Statistics in the Department of Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics, has been awarded a European Research Council Advanced Grant for his project Statistical aspects of non-linear inverse problems. The ERC Advanced Grant funding is amongst the most prestigious and competitive EU funding schemes. Grants are awarded to established, leading researchers with a proven track record of significant research achievements over the past decade.

Dr Anne Cori and Professor Adam Kucharski win 2023 Adams Prize

8 March 2023

The 2023 Adams Prize has been awarded to Dr Anne Cori of Imperial College London and Professor Adam Kucharski of the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, for their work modelling the spread of infectious disease outbreaks.
The Adams Prize is awarded jointly each year by the Faculty of Mathematics and St John’s College, Cambridge, to UK-based researchers under the age of 40 doing first class international research in the Mathematical Sciences.

Professor Jessica Fintzen awarded Whitehead Prize

4 November 2022

Professor Jessica Fintzen (DPMMS, Duke University, and Universität Bonn) has been awarded a Whitehead Prize by the London Mathematical Society for her groundbreaking work in representation theory, in particular as it relates to number theory via the (local) Langlands program.