skip to content

Women in Mathematics


2007 meeting of European Women in Mathematics

The 13th general meeting of European Women in Mathematics, held in Cambridge in 2007

Women in Mathematics

Athena SWAN Bronze Award

Welcome to the webpages for all female Mathematicians studying or working in Cambridge. Whether you’re inspired by pure or applied maths, theoretical physics, or statistics, you will find here other women who share your interests.

The Faculty of Mathematics at the University of Cambridge Sciences is a supporter of the Good Practice Scheme co-ordinated by the London Mathematical Society, and holds an Athena SWAN Bronze Award. We are keen to attract the best talent from all backgrounds and genders, and therefore strongly encourage women to apply to join us, whether as students or staff.

Professor Anne Davis, Professor of Mathematical Physics and former chair of the Faculty Athena SWAN committee,  is pictured right, holding the Faculty Athena SWAN award, with the Heads of Department in 2014, Professor Peter Haynes and Professor Gabriel Paternain.


"Journeys of Women in Mathematics” is a film created by the International Mathematical Union (IMU) Committee for Women in Mathematics. It was filmed and edited by Micro-Documentaries, with a grant by the Simons Foundation. It profiles women mathematicians from around the world. In the first part of the film Neela Nataraj from India, Aminatou Pecha from Cameroon and Carolina Araujo from Brazil, are featured at their home institutions in their respective countries. The second part of the film was shot at (WM)2: World Meeting for Women in Mathematics, a satellite event of the ICM 2018. It contains short interviews of six women from various Latin American countries.



Athena SWAN Bronze Award LMS Good Practice Scheme logo
July 2019
  • Carola–Bibiane Schönlieb has been awarded the Caldéron Prize of The Inverse Problems International Association (IPIA) at the Applied Inverse Problems Conference in Grenoble, France, for her distinguished contributions to the field of inverse problems.
  • Anne Davis has been awarded the Richard Glazebrook Medal and Prize for her outstanding support and leadership in physics, particularly for women and those from non-traditional backgrounds, for her leadership of the UK particle cosmology community, and her gender championship roles.
May 2019
January 2019
  • Julia Gog is featured in a film produced by the University of Cambridge, to mark the centenary of the end of the First World War and the 1918-19 influenza pandemic, and to highlight vital scientific research by the University of Cambridge. The film explores what has been learnt about Spanish Flu, the urgent threat posed by influenza today, and how scientists are preparing for future pandemics.
October 2018
August 2018
  • Julia Gog has received a Vice Chancellor’s Impact Award for her work on ‘Harnessing mathematics to help control influenza’. Julia’s work on predicting the evolution of the seasonal human influenza virus to better inform vaccination selection is critical to controlling the spread of influenza each year. Julia worked with data gathered through the BBC’s Pandemic project to produce mathematical modelling that helps predict how UK populations move and interact, and consequently how and where a virus would spread.
July 2018
  • Amalia Thomas (PhD student) has won first prize in the IFPRI (International Fine Particle Research Institute) AGM Student poster session. She was announced the winner among five finalists, and was awarded $1,000. Amalia's research aims to explore the underlying physical processes involved in granular segregation in a novel, multidisciplinary way.


Athena Swan Bronze Award


The Faculty received a Bronze Athena SWAN Department Award in April 2014 and successfully renewed it in 2017.  We are aiming for a Silver Award, and we are currently implementing a wide-ranging Action Plan to ensure equal opportunities for advancing women's careers in mathematics. The aim of this process is to implement good practice that benefits all, men and women, equally. The Athena Swan Bronze Award is recognition that the Faculty as a whole has a solid foundation of policies and practices to eliminate gender bias and an inclusive culture that values female staff.

Dr Orsola Rath Spivack is the Athena SWAN Coordinator and is working with the Faculty Athena SWAN panel on the implementation of our action plan.


Women's Advisers

The Faculty has two Women's Advisers - academics who are available to help female students and academic staff with any issues they may have.


Related links

MSRI talk