skip to content

Faculty of Mathematics

 

Seminars taking place at DAMTP as advertised through www.talks.cam.ac.uk, are listed below.

Separate pages listing these seminars are available from the departmental website.

Please contact help@maths.cam.ac.uk to have your seminar series added to this list.

Tuesday 24 April 2018

Piet Lammers
Percolation: the bunkbed conjecture on the complete graph

Wednesday 25 April 2018

Michał Oszmaniec
Classical simulation of photonic linear optics with lost particles

Thursday 26 April 2018

Matthew Simpson (Queensland University of Technology)
Mathematical models for cell migration with real-time cell cycle dynamics

Amit Sever (CERN)
Non-planar Scattering amplitudes in N=4 SYM theory

Ángela Capel Cuevas (ICMAT)
Quasi-factorization of the quantum relative entropy

Friday 27 April 2018

Matthew Klimek (Cornell University)
Monte Carlo Integration and Generation with Neural Nets

Peter Haynes (DAMTP)
Beyond effective diffusivity -- dispersion in the large deviation regime

Monday 30 April 2018

David Wands (ICG Portsmouth)
GR interpretation of Newtonian simulations for structure formation

Per Jönsson (Malmö University)
Title to be confirmed

Tuesday 01 May 2018

Janosz Dewberry (DAMTP)
Quasi-periodic oscillations and the global modes of magnetohydrodynamic, relativistic accretion disks

Wolfgang Wieland (Perimeter)
TBA
Series: Mathematical Physics Seminar, Time: 16:00-17:00, Venue: MR11  [details]

Jesse Thaler (MIT)
On the Topic of Jets

Thursday 03 May 2018

Benjamin Assel (CERN)
Title to be confirmed

Friday 04 May 2018

Steve Tobias (University of Leeds)
Model reduction in direct statistical simulation of fluids

Monday 07 May 2018

Moritz Munchmeyer (Perimeter)
Title to be confirmed

Tuesday 08 May 2018

Nick Dorey (DAMTP)
TBA
Series: Mathematical Physics Seminar, Time: 16:00-17:00, Venue: MR11  [details]

Thursday 10 May 2018

Christopher White (QMUL)
Title to be confirmed

Friday 11 May 2018

Freddy Bouchet (ENS, Lyon)
Large deviation theory applied to climate physics, a new frontier of statistical physics and applied mathematics

Monday 14 May 2018

Diederik Roest (Groningen)
Title to be confirmed

Thursday 17 May 2018

Nathan Seiberg (IAS, Princeton)
Dynamics of 2+1d Quantum Field Theories

Friday 18 May 2018

Robert Whittaker (University of East Anglia)
High-frequency self-excited oscillations in flow through elastic-walled tubes

Monday 21 May 2018

Aninda Sinha (IISC)
Title to be confirmed (UNUSUAL DATE & LOCATION)
Series: Quantum Fields and Strings Seminars, Time: 13:00-14:00, Venue: MR11, B1.39  [details]

Urbasi Sinha
Title to be confirmed

Christopher Nixon (Leicester)
Title to be confirmed

Wednesday 25 April 2018

Sameer Murthy, King's College London
Quantum black holes: a macroscopic window into quantum gravity

Wednesday 02 May 2018

Hiranya Peiris, University College London and Stockholm University
From pixels to physics: the promise of large cosmological surveys

Wednesday 09 May 2018

Fernando Quevedo, DAMTP and ICTP, Trieste
Title to be confirmed

Wednesday 16 May 2018

Hermann Nicolai, Max-Planck-Institut für Gravitationsphysik, Potsdam
The Conformal Standard Model

Wednesday 23 May 2018

Matthew McCullough
Title to be confirmed

Wednesday 30 May 2018

Ricardo Rattazzi
Title to be confirmed

Wednesday 06 June 2018

Antonio Padilla, University of Nottingham
Title to be confirmed