skip to content

Faculty of Mathematics


Caucher Birkar, Peter Haynes and Richard Jozsa elected as Fellows of the Royal Society

1 May 2019

Professor Caucher Birkar (DPMMS), Professor Peter Haynes (DAMTP) and Professor Richard Jozsa (DAMTP) have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Society in recognition of their outstanding contributions to science.

Find out more

Celebration for Professor Anne-Christine Davis

29 March 2019

The Faculty is delighted to host a one-day workshop on 1st May 2019 to mark the retirement of Anne-Christine Davis, Professor of Mathematical Physics, to celebrate her achievements in theoretical physics, cosmology, particle physics and beyond. As well as being the first female Professor in the Faculty of Mathematics, where she holds the 1967 chair of Mathematical Physics, Professor Davis has long been a driving force in the UK cosmology community, and has done much to encourage and further the cause of women in mathematics and science more generally. From 2014 to 2017, she was Cambridge University’s Gender Equality Champion for STEMM.

Find out more

Adams Prize 2019-20 Applications Now Open

15 March 2019

Applications are invited for the 2019-20 Adams Prize, one of the oldest and most prestigious prizes in the University of Cambridge. The prize will be awarded this year for achievements in the field of Algebra. The deadline for receipt of applications is 31 October 2019.

Find out more

Adams Prize Winners 2018-19 Announced

4 March 2019

The Adams Prize is awarded jointly each year by the Faculty of Mathematics and St John’s College, Cambridge, to UK-based researchers, under the age of 40, doing first class international research in the Mathematical Sciences. This year's topic was 'The Mathematics of Networks', and the prize has been awarded jointly to Dr Heather Harrington (University of Oxford) and Dr Luitgard Veraart (London School of Economics and Political Science).

Find out more

Dr Anders Hansen awarded 2018 IMA Prize in Mathematics and its Applications

6 December 2018

The 2018 IMA Prize in Mathematics and its Applications has been awarded to Dr Anders Hansen, head of the Applied Functional and Harmonic Analysis group within the Cambridge Centre for Analysis at DAMTP. The IMA Prize is awarded annually to a mathematical scientist who received his/her PhD degree within 10 years of the nomination year. The award recognizes an individual who has made a transformative impact on the mathematical sciences and their applications.

Find out more

Professor Jack Thorne awarded 2018 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize

15 October 2018

Professor Jack Thorne (DPMMS) has been jointly awarded the 2018 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize, alongside Professor Yifeng Liu (Yale). This annual prize is for outstanding contributions by individuals not exceeding the age of 32 in areas of mathematics influenced by Ramanujan in a broad sense. Professor Thorne's prize has been awarded for his far reaching contributions to number theory, representation theory and arithmetic geometry, especially to the modularity of Galois representations and arithmetic invariant theory.

Find out more

Professor Richard Samworth wins COPSS 2018 President's Award

16 August 2018

Richard Samworth, Professor of Statistical Science and Director of the Statistical Laboratory in DPMMS, has been awarded the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies (COPSS) 2018 President's Award. The COPSS Presidents' Award is made annually to a member of the statistical community for outstanding contributions to the profession of statistics.

Find out more

Professor Caucher Birkar wins Fields Medal

1 August 2018

Caucher Birkar, Professor of Mathematics in the Department of Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics, has been awarded a Fields Medal at the International Congress of Mathematicians 2018 in Rio de Janeiro. Professor Birkar has been awarded the highest honour in mathematics for his substantial contributions to algebraic geometry, including "his proof of the boundedness of Fano varieties and for contributions to the minimal model program."

Find out more

Professor Julia Gog wins Vice-Chancellor's Impact Award

12 July 2018

Professor Julia Gog (DAMTP) has won a Vice-Chancellor's Impact Award for her collaboration with the BBC Pandemic project. The Vice-Chancellor’s Impact Awards were established to recognise and reward those whose research has led to excellent impact beyond academia, whether on the economy, society, culture, public policy or services, health, the environment or quality of life.

Find out more

Professor Caucher Birkar and Dr Peter Varju awarded Whitehead Prizes

29 June 2018

Professor Caucher Birkar (DPMMS) and Dr Peter Varju (DPMMS) have each been awarded a prestigious Whitehead Prize by the London Mathematical Society. Professor Birkar is awarded the prize in recognition of his outstanding research in higher dimensional algebraic geometry, most prominently his recent groundbreaking finiteness results on Fano varieties and Mori fibre spaces. Dr Varju's prize is awarded for his deep and groundbreaking contributions to analysis and probability on algebraic structures.

Find out more